Programs at Casa Werma

Prices vary depending on event. Please check event pages for specific prices.

Date & Time Details: Ongoing virtual series

Location: Zoom (online)

Email us about program
Please register for each event in this series separately.

Wind, Flag, Mind Moves – A Binational Contemplative Writers Series

Open Dates

Please register for each event in this series separately.

Wind, Flag, Mind Moves – a Binational Contemplative Writers Series

Mindfulness and creativity in the time of quarantine has proven to be challenging. But now more than ever, as we find ourselves unable to go outward, we are presented with the opportunity to turn inward. The Wind, Flag, Mind Moves series is an offering of exchanges designed to inspire writers along the creative path.

Join us for this unique virtual line-up of readings, workshops and discussions, where we engage with notable authors and meditation practitioners as we explore the relationship of contemplative practices, social action, and the written word.

Global Reading: Juan Felipe Herrera, 21st United States Poet Laureate

DATE: November 6, 2020
TIME: 11:00 am Pacific/ 12:00 pm Mountain / 1:00 pm Central / 2:00 pm Eastern / 3:00 pm Atlantic / 7:00 pm UK

Writers Workshop: Lance Brunner, Shambhala Teacher and University of Kentucky Professor

DATE: December 5, 2020
TIME: 9:00 am Pacific/ 10:00 am Mountain / 11:00 am Central / 12:00 pm Eastern / 1:00 pm Atlantic / 5:00 pm UK

Global Reading: Allison Adelle Hedge Coke, Poet & Author, Distinguished Professor of Creative Writing – University of California, Riverside 

DATE: January 28, 2021
TIME: 5:00 pm Pacific/ 6:00 pm Mountain / 7:00 pm Central / 8:00 pm Eastern / 9:00 pm Atlantic

Writers Workshop: Seema Reza, Poet/Memoirist & Author 

DATE: February 20, 2021
TIME: 10:00 am Pacific/ 11:00 am Mountain / 12:00 pm Central / 1:00 pm Eastern / 2:00 pm Atlantic / 6:00 pm UK

Global Reading: Ernest Padilla, Poet & Author, Publisher and Literature Professor 

DATE: March 11, 2021
TIME: 5:00 pm Pacific/ 6:00 pm Mountain / 7:00 pm Central / 8:00 pm Eastern / 9:00 pm Atlantic

Writers Workshop: Christina Burress, Poet & The Grauer School English Department Chair 

DATE: April 10, 2021
TIME: 9:00 am Pacific/ 10:00 am Mountain / 11:00 am Central / 12:00 pm Eastern / 1:00 pm Atlantic / 5:00 pm UK

Global Reading: Daniel Chacón, Author & Literature Professor and UTEP Student Writers

DATE: May 7, 2021
TIME: 5:00 pm Pacific/ 6:00 pm Mountain / 7:00 pm Central / 8:00 pm Eastern / 9:00 pm Atlantic

This writers series is open to everyone; no prerequisites. This series is offered in English; however, Spanish interpretation will be made available for participants whose first language is Spanish. Please register early and let us know if that is true for you.

Writers Series hosted by Mayela Padilla and Tim Z. Hernandez, Sponsored by Casa Werma and the University of Texas El Paso Department of Creative Writing.


Program Details: These virtual events will be conducted on Zoom. At least 24 hours before the start time, a link to join the retreat will be shared with all registered participants via email.