Programs at Casa Werma

Prices
  • $75.00 – Supporting Tuition
  • $50.00 – Standard Tuition
  • $25.00 – Subsidized Tuition

Date & Time Details: 02/20/2021, 10:00 am - 12:00 pm PT

Location: Zoom (online)

Email us about program

Wind, Flag, Mind Moves – Writers Workshop

con Seema Reza

February 20, 2021

Wind, Flag, Mind Moves – a Binational Contemplative Writers Series.

Mindfulness and creativity in the time of quarantine has proven to be challenging. But now more than ever, as we find ourselves unable to go outward, we are presented with the opportunity to turn inward. The Wind, Flag, Mind Moves series is an offering of exchanges designed to inspire writers along the creative path.

Join us for this unique virtual line-up of readings, workshops and discussions, where we engage with notable authors and meditation practitioners as we explore the relationship of contemplative practices, social action, and the written word.

Workshop: Poetics as Practice

Presenter: Seema Reza, Poet/Memoirist, Author

The process of writing poetry helps us understand something about the world inside and outside of ourselves, and builds a practice of observation, wonder, and spaciousness that can guide us to move with more intention through the world well after we step away from the page. The act of reading poetry orients us toward empathy and away from isolation. In this 90 minute generative workshop we will read and discuss poems and write poetic responses to prompts derived from the example poems. No poetry experience required. Please bring a notebook, a pen, and an open mind. There will also be a moderated Q & A after the workshop. The full length of this event, including Q & A, will run 2 hours.

DATE: Saturday, February 20, 2020
TIME: 10:00 am Pacific/ 11:00 am Mountain / 12:00 pm Central / 1:00 pm Eastern / 2:00 pm Atlantic / 6:00 pm UK

This writers series is open to everyone; no prerequisites. This series is offered in English; however, Spanish interpretation will be made available for participants whose first language is Spanish. Please register early and let us know if that is true for you.

Writers Series hosted by Mayela Padilla and Tim Z. Hernandez, Sponsored by Casa Werma and the University of Texas El Paso Department of Creative Writing.


Virtual Workshop: $25 – $75 usd. This program offers tiered pricing to accommodate most instances of financial need.

We invite all who are able to Pay-It-Forward. This is a year long writers series and by doing so, you make it possible for Casa Werma to cover our costs and offer scholarships to our workshop participants. If you are unable to attend at the subsidized tuition rate, we do have scholarships available. Please email [email protected] to request a scholarship.

Program Details: This virtual event will be conducted on Zoom. At least 24 hours before the start time, a link to join the retreat will be sent to you via email.

 

Teacher / [email protected]

Seema Reza
Seema Reza is the author of the poetry collection A Constellation of Half-Lives and the memoir When the World Breaks Open. Seema has led writing workshops within correctional facilities, military and civilian hospitals, elementary and secondary schools, and universities. She is the CEO of Community Building Art Works, a unique arts organization that encourages the use of the arts as a tool for narration, self-care and socialization among a military population struggling with emotional and physical injuries. Reza’s work with veterans is featured in the 2018 HBO documentary We Are Not Done Yet. She was awarded the Col John Gioia Patriot Award by the USO of Metropolitan…
Learn more about Seema Reza